Transportation Cabinet conducts extensive testing of new driver’s license program

Federal extension allows continued use of current licenses for air travel, military base access

Transportation officials urge Kentuckians to prepare documentation now; launch dates to be announced

FRANKFORT, Ky. (April 15, 2019) – The Kentucky Transportation (KYTC) is in the end stages of testing the state’s new driver’s license system to introduce new, more secure card versions that meet federal standards in the coming months. A pilot of the new system will begin this spring in Circuit Court Clerk Office locations in Woodford and Franklin counties. New licenses will be made available gradually in counties and become available statewide by the end of the summer.

“The internal testing phase did exactly what it was designed to do – verify what works and reveal gaps that need to be addressed before introducing the system to Circuit Court Clerk offices,” said Department of Vehicle Regulation Commissioner Matt Henderson. “We’re pleased with the positive results that have confirmed that the majority of the new system is operational. While we targeted April to begin the in-office pilot testing, additional time is necessary to re-test system patches that are released when flaws are identified. Our unwavering commitment is to deliver a fully functional program to counties, and that requires flexibility. Everyone is engaged to make the new cards available as soon as possible.”

The functionality of the new program to issue basic card versions of the new standard and Voluntary Travel ID driver’s licenses is operational. The card vendor is working to resolve challenges related to complex license endorsements and features, such as combination licenses.

The Cabinet will announce pilot testing dates for Franklin and Woodford counties once confirmed. Additional counties may be added to the pilot phase, if necessary.

“The summer is a busy time for U.S. air travel, and we want to assure travelers that current licenses are accepted at airport security checkpoint and for military base entry thanks to Kentucky’s federal extension,” said Henderson. “New federally-compliant credentials will be available well in advance of the October 2020 REAL ID enforcement deadline.”

First-time cardholders and those desiring a Voluntary Travel ID are encouraged to prepare for the new application process by gathering, updating and requesting required documentation now.

More information can be found at drive.ky.gov/confidentky (link below).

Click HERE for more information.

The Jefferson County Office of the Circuit Court Clerk (OCCC) serves as the custodian of all court records of District, Circuit and Family courts, as well as the repository of fees, fines and court costs in the county. In addition to these primary responsibilities to the court, our office also issues Kentucky driver’s licenses and identification cards in partnership with the Kentucky Transportation Cabinet and Kentucky State Police.

The staff is comprised of 327 deputy clerks who carry out the daily responsibilities of our office. Deputy clerks are sworn officers of the court and work in four major divisions: District Court, Circuit Court, Family Court and Driver’s License.

These divisions are located in the Louis D. Brandeis Hall of Justice, the Jefferson County Judicial Center and the six driver’s license branches throughout Jefferson County. Deputy clerks also work in Archives & Records in the Old Jef­ferson County Jail Building.

With 40 elected trial court judges, the Jef­ferson County OCCC serves the largest jurisdiction in Ken­tucky’s unified court system and its only true urban court system. The majority of court operations are conducted at two facilities in downtown Louisville: the Hall of Justice, at 600 W. Jefferson St., and the Jefferson County Judicial Center, at 700 W. Jefferson St.

Metro TV Presents
Justice for All: Jefferson County Trial Court System

Office of the Circuit Court Clerk
Louis D. Brandeis Hall of Justice
600 W. Jefferson St., Suite 2008
Louisville, KY 40202
8:30 a.m. – 4:30 p.m. Monday – Friday